Our Long Love’s Day

Book Cover: Our Long Love's Day
Editions:Paperback - First Edition: $ 17.99 USD
ISBN: 978-1645830290
Size: 6.00 x 9.00 in
Pages: 372
Kindle - First Edition: $ 4.49 USD
ISBN: B087W2FNL4
Pages: 372
ePub - First Edition: $ 4.49 USD
ISBN: 9780463564882
Pages: 372

Spanning the last ten years, Elizabeth Guider's unflinching but empathetic novel about finding yourself after divorce is a modern-day anatomy of love...

"We make a living by what we get; we make a life by what we give."

Dr. Ashton Mather Cole and his wife, Dr. Deidre Durrell Cole, are two college professors in a small Ohio town with a seemingly perfect marriage. But when Ashton's love affair with one of his students comes to light, everyone is left rattled, aggrieved, or bent on revenge.

Over the course of ten years, they and those around them strive--sometimes painfully, sometimes comically--to right themselves. New relationships don't come without their own false starts and sorrowful stops. Until...

Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert's "Eat, Pray, Love" and Meg Wolitzer's "The Wife" will devour this "insightful" and "heartfelt" Women's Fiction novel in one sitting.

"Spoiler! I absolutely loved this book. Their lives lured me in and I was there with them - in every twist of their journey." -Wendy Oberman, Novelist and Playwright

"The author has a knack for getting you to embrace her characters, however fallible and shortsighted, and believe in them." - Suzy Arthur, Author

Published:
Publisher: Foundations
Editors:
Cover Artists:
Genres:
Tags:
Excerpt:

More than these particulars, Jennifer did not feel it incumbent upon her to elaborate. In pleading her case to her parent, she had been vague about Dr. Cole's age, which she only knew because she had googled him early on during that poetry seminar she had signed up for. In truth, she had been intrigued by the word metaphysical, and needed just three more credits to graduate. She had not a clue who John Donne was. From the outset, though, she had admired how pleasantly the professor had called upon students, and no matter how off-base or banal their comments, he would find some nugget in the dross to burnish. Whenever she was asked to expound on an assignment, he seemed at pains to pull something arresting out of her mumbled remarks.

READ MORE

“If I understand you rightly—Miss, Miss Hazelton is it?—you are suggesting that Marvell's tone is more ironic than urgent when he makes his plea to the beloved. Would that be a fair assessment of how you read the stanzas?” And, yes, it would be henceforth how she read them, glancing around to note that her fellow students were impressed (except for her friend Kimberly, who knew her all too well).

Up to then, Jennifer had relied, heavily and successfully, on her pretty face but, thanks mainly to that class, it occurred to her that a functioning brain could be amusing as well. That explained her initial attraction to the relationship, and why she was so passionate about it; Ashton was passionate too but in a more basic sense. He was surrounded, if not smothered, by brainy people, starting with his wife. He craved Jennifer's body.

COLLAPSE
Reviews:Amazon Reviewer on Amazon wrote:

Bravo to Elizabeth Guider, whose deeply absorbing novel tracks the transformation of a family impacted by the father’s decision to leave after falling into a passionate but ill-fated love affair. Painted in realistic and very sensitive tones, the novel delves into the mind of the spurned wife, Dierdre, who climbs out of her intense feelings of insecurity and failure to discover new career paths and adventuresome romances. All the while she must deal with the sometimes-secret troubles of her gifted twin children. Our Long Love’s Day -- a title taken from Andrew Marvell’s most famed poem, “To His Coy Mistress” -- marries together the protagonist’s desire to write about strong women in the Middle Ages with her eventual life among some colorful Mississippi characters -- many of whom have engaging musical talents. Guider brings the whole mosaic together with a deft sense of storytelling.

Amazon Reviewer on Amazon wrote:

This is a very moving wonderful perspective on life, love, family values and food values too!

The part of this I liked most was about attempts to stop divorce breaking up family; destroying everyone’s lives, especially our children's.

I know this well as lived through it myself.

Despite begging my then wife and our children’s mother, she moved out of our house leaving my two young teenage sons with me. After six months she hired a divorce lawyer who of course immediately told her to change all this because of child custody financial benefits!

In addition my ex, because of an account overseas in my name and hers, put me under a federal law suite (I chose not to prove it was under her name too because if she ended up in jail as well as me our children would have no parents).

Amazon Reviewer on Amazon wrote:

Everyone in this expansive family saga misbehaves, most also misconstrue the motives of others, and a few willfully misrepresent themselves—with sometimes drastic results. Deftly constructed and set in several locales over the last decade, the story revolves around a professor of medieval literature named Deirdre Durrell, whose seemingly ideal marriage falls apart in the first chapter. Angry and disoriented, she spends a decade trying to keep her personal and professional life on track. No longer young but not ready to be “old,” she has to navigate particularly difficult terrain: it’s an engrossing journey, with new loves, rekindled friendships and serious challenges along the way. This book resonates with real and relatable feelings. I was left with memories to enjoy for a long time! Would be great for a book club discussion; I highly recommend Our Long Love's Day!


Paperback - $17.99

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *